Fortinet Engage Advocate Partner, Integrator

FortiGate Sizing Guide

FortiGate 30G, 50G, 70G or 90G.
Which one fits your office.

Your circuit speed, the ports you will cable and your core-switch uplink decide which G-series model you need. This FortiGate sizing guide sets Fortinet’s datasheet numbers beside the four rules we use.

Datasheet Comparison

FortiGate 30G vs 50G vs 70G vs 90G compared.

Figures are Fortinet’s published datasheet values: “up to” numbers, with test methods that differ by metric (see the cited datasheets). Threat protection is Fortinet’s benchmark with firewall, IPS (intrusion prevention), application control and malware protection enabled, which is how a protected office runs, so it is the number to size against. Deep SSL inspection is benchmarked separately. NGFW is the same test without malware scanning; the bare firewall figure is traffic passed with no inspection at all.

FortiGate 30G vs 50G vs 70G vs 90G: datasheet throughput, ports, PoE, Wi-Fi and fanless models
ModelThreat protectionIPSNGFWFirewall (1518-byte)Concurrent sessionsPortsPoE variantStorage variantWi-Fi modelFanless
FortiGate 30G500 Mbps800 Mbps570 Mbps4 Gbps600,0004× GE RJ45 (1 WAN, 2 LAN, 1 FortiLink)No31G (30 GB storage)FortiWiFi 30G, 31GNot stated (noise level N/A)
FortiGate 50G1.1 Gbps2.25 Gbps1.25 Gbps5 Gbps720,0005× GE RJ45 (1 WAN, 3 LAN, 1 FortiLink); 50G-SFP adds 1× GE SFP50G-SFP-POE: PoE+ ports51G (64 GB SSD)FortiWiFi 50G, 51GYes, 0 dBA
FortiGate 70G1.3 Gbps2.5 Gbps1.5 Gbps10 Gbps1,400,00010× GE RJ45 (2 WAN, 6 LAN, 2 FortiLink)70G-POE: 4 PoE/PoE+ ports71G (64 GB SSD)FortiWiFi 70G, 71G, 70G-POEYes (FortiGate models)
FortiGate 90G2.2 Gbps4.5 Gbps2.5 Gbps28 Gbps3,000,0008× GE RJ45 + 2 shared-media pairs: 10/5/2.5/1 GE RJ45 or 10GE/GE SFP+/SFPNo91G (120 GB SSD)None in the datasheetNot stated; published noise level: 21.73 dBA

Sources: Fortinet datasheets, listed at the end of this page. Fanless is as each datasheet states it: the 50G and 70G FortiGate models are listed as fanless, the 90G at a 21.73 dBA noise level, and the 30G datasheet gives no noise figure. Two Wi-Fi models list a noise level: the FortiWiFi 50G-5G-II (21.73 dBA) and FortiWiFi 70G-POE (17.75 dBA).

Part numbers and Fortinet list prices for each model above (and the 901G, built for a hub or data center) are on our FortiGate models pages. List prices are reference figures; as a Fortinet reseller we quote by exact part number.

FortiGate 30G vs 50G

Take the 30G for a small site on a circuit of about 300 Mbps or less. Take the 50G for more inspection headroom, subject to traffic, enabled features and session load.

FortiGate 30G vs 50G: datasheet figures and Fortinet list prices
Datasheet figureFortiGate 30GFortiGate 50G
Threat protection500 Mbps1.1 Gbps
SSL inspection400 Mbps1.3 Gbps
New sessions per second30,00085,000
VDOMs (default / max)Not supported5 / 5
SSL-VPNNot supportedNot supported
Selected related models31G (30 GB storage)51G (64 GB SSD); 50G-SFP; 50G-SFP-POE; 50G-5G; 50G-DSL
Appliance list price$697 FG-30G$1,093 FG-50G
Appliance + 1-year UTP bundle, list$1,047 FG-30G-BDL-950-12$1,597.70 FG-50G-BDL-950-12

Sources: Fortinet FortiGate / FortiWiFi 30G Series datasheet (FGFWF-30G-DAT-R07-20260414) and Fortinet FortiGate / FortiWiFi 50G Series datasheet (FGFWF-50G-DAT-R18-20260929). Fortinet list prices as of September 7, 2026 (Fortinet Americas 2026 MidQ3 Price List); your quote confirms current pricing.

FortiGate 50G vs 70G

A 500 Mbps to 1 Gbps circuit fits a 50G or 70G. Take the 50G when a managed switch handles the LAN and the firewall only routes and inspects. Take the 70G when the firewall doubles as the switch, needs PoE for a few access points or phones, or runs two WAN circuits for failover.

FortiGate 50G vs 70G: datasheet figures
Datasheet figureFortiGate 50GFortiGate 70G
Threat protection1.1 Gbps1.3 Gbps
SSL inspection1.3 Gbps1.4 Gbps
New sessions per second85,000100,000
VDOMs (default / max)5 / 510 / 10
WAN ports12

FortiGate 70G vs 90G

Take the 70G for a gigabit connection and more LAN ports. Take the 90G for faster interfaces or more inspection headroom. Size a dual-WAN site by the combined traffic and what has to keep running if one line fails.

FortiGate 70G vs 90G: datasheet figures and Fortinet list prices
Datasheet figureFortiGate 70GFortiGate 90G
Threat protection1.3 Gbps2.2 Gbps
SSL inspection1.4 Gbps2.6 Gbps
New sessions per second100,000124,000
VDOMs (default / max)10 / 1010 / 10
SSL-VPNNot on FortiOS 7.4.8+ (ran on 7.2)Not on FortiOS 7.2.12+, 7.4.8+, 7.6.1+
Selected related models70G-POE; 71G (64 GB SSD)91G (120 GB SSD)
Appliance list price$1,562 FG-70G$3,638 FG-90G
Appliance + 1-year UTP bundle, list$2,333.40 FG-70G-BDL-950-12$5,550.40 FG-90G-BDL-950-12

Sources: Fortinet FortiGate / FortiWiFi 70G Series datasheet (FGFWF-70G-DAT-R10-20260929) and Fortinet FortiGate 90G Series datasheet (FG-90G-DAT-R18-20260929). List prices as of the same date and price list as above.

How We Size

Which FortiGate do I need? Four rules that pick the model.

Headcount is a weak predictor. A 15-person engineering firm on a 2 Gbps circuit needs more firewall than a 60-person warehouse on 300 Mbps. Start with the circuit.

1. Size to the circuit with profiles on

Take the internet speed you pay for and keep it at or below about 70 to 80 percent of the firewall’s threat-protection throughput, so inspection has headroom. A 300 Mbps circuit fits a 30G. Up to about 750 Mbps fits a 50G; up to 1 Gbps, a 70G. Above 1 Gbps, start at the 90G. With a second circuit for SD-WAN (two internet lines, the best one chosen per application automatically), size by the combined traffic of both lines and what has to keep running if one fails. Never size to the bare firewall number; it is several times higher than what you get with security services enabled (compare the firewall and threat-protection columns above).

2. Count the ports you will actually cable

If the firewall is the only switch in a small office, the 70G’s ten gigabit ports and the PoE (power over Ethernet) variant’s four powered ports matter more than throughput. If a managed switch sits behind the firewall, one WAN port and one or two LAN uplinks are all you use, and a 50G is fine as long as the circuit fits rule 1. The 70G has two dedicated WAN ports; on a base 50G, a second circuit uses one of the three LAN ports.

3. Match the uplink to the core switch

Of these four models, only the 90G has multi-gig and SFP+ (10G fiber) ports. If your core switch has 10G or 2.5G uplinks, or you run a server VLAN with 10G hosts, a gigabit firewall becomes the choke point for traffic between your servers and desktops whenever that traffic passes through it. That is why a 40-person office with a 10G core lands on a 90G.

4. Buy five years of headroom

Once FortiGuard subscriptions are included, hardware is a small share of five-year cost; see managed firewall cost for the recurring side. The G-series has no end-of-order notice from Fortinet as of October 29, 2026. Pick the model that still fits after the next circuit upgrade: dropping from a 90G to a 70G to save on the appliance is a false economy if the circuit doubles in year two.

Typical Fit

Where each model lands.

User bands are Fortinet’s own, from the SMB Quick Sizing Guide (October 2024 edition). The circuit and site columns are our deployment patterns. Where the two disagree, the circuit wins.

ModelFortinet user bandInternet circuitTypical siteUsually chosen when
30G1 to 15Up to 300 MbpsBranch, retail, small clinic, home office of a remote executiveSD-WAN spoke behind a hub; budget-driven; few devices
50G10 to 25300 to 750 Mbps10 to 30 people, one managed switch, a few access pointsSwitch handles the LAN; firewall only routes and inspects
70G20 to 50500 Mbps to 1 Gbps10 to 50 people, firewall doubles as the switch, PoE for a few APs or phonesNo separate switch, or two WAN circuits for failover
90G40 to 801 Gbps and up, or dual circuits30 to 150 people, 10G core switch, server VLAN, regulated inspection policyMulti-gig uplinks, SSL inspection on most traffic, HA pair
120G50 to 150Multi-gig, dual circuitsLarger office or small campus with a 10G coreFour SFP+ ports needed; next step above the 90G

What About the 40F and 60F

40F, 60F and 61F: lifecycle dates and 2 GB limits.

The 40F has no end-of-order notice from Fortinet as of October 29, 2026; the 60F and 61F reach end of order on January 13, 2027 and end of support on January 13, 2032 (Fortinet notice, October 15, 2026). All three run FortiOS 8.0 and are 2 GB-RAM models, and Fortinet has been removing features from that class: proxy-mode features in FortiOS 7.4.4 and SSL-VPN in FortiOS 7.6.0. FortiOS 7.6.3 then removed SSL-VPN tunnel mode on every FortiGate, so verify the exact version before you buy. Remote access on the G-series is IPsec or ZTNA (per-application access tied to user and device), which is where Fortinet is taking the whole product line. The ZTNA application proxy is one of the proxy features the 2 GB models no longer support from FortiOS 7.4.4, though ZTNA tags in IP/MAC-based access control returned in FortiOS 7.6.3; see how to migrate from VPN to ZTNA.

For a hardware refresh, the G-series candidates are 40F to 30G or 50G, and 60F to FortiGate 70G; verify every feature you need against the exact model and FortiOS release. Our FortiGate end of life page has the dates and the Trade-Up replacement matrix. A like-for-like 60F to 70G swap converts the configuration and hand-checks it, with one scheduled remote evening cutover with rollback, for a fixed $2,500. Plan the SSL-VPN migration with the purchase: inside a firewall migration it is part of the scope; on its own it is quoted after a short review of your users, rules and applications.

Licensing and HA

The bundle matters as much as the box.

Every model ships as hardware only or as a bundle with FortiCare (support and hardware replacement) and FortiGuard security services for one, three or five years. The threat-protection numbers above assume those services are licensed and enabled. Active FortiGuard subscriptions supply current threat intelligence and the licensed security services; once they lapse, signatures stop updating.

Unified Threat Protection (UTP)

FortiCare Premium plus FortiGuard IPS, antivirus and sandbox, application control, URL/DNS/video filtering and antispam. The default for an office firewall; three-year terms cost less per year and avoid a renewal lapse, which Fortinet backdates.

Enterprise Protection

Keeps UTP’s IPS and filtering and adds AI-based inline malware prevention, inline CASB database, data loss prevention and attack surface security, for sites where an audit or regulator needs the extra evidence.

High availability

Two identical firewalls, one live and one on standby, so one can fail without taking the office down. The FAQ below covers which models we pair.

Registration and ownership

We register the unit to your Fortinet account, not ours, so renewals and RMA stay yours. Used units bought outside Fortinet’s partner channel are not eligible for transfer or support; buy through an authorized Fortinet reseller.

Track Record

Who does the work.

A senior engineer does the work: 20+ years and 300+ sites of network engineering, counting prior employers. Fortinet Engage partner; Cisco, Fortinet and CompTIA certified.

Where We Work

Sacramento, the Bay Area, and remote across California.

Pre-staging and configuration happen remotely. Cutovers are remote-guided by default; on-site cutover is available in Sacramento, the Bay Area and San Jose and quoted with the migration. Local clients: see our Sacramento Fortinet MSP and Fortinet MSP in San Francisco pages. Replacing a non-Fortinet firewall? See firewall migration.

FAQ

FortiGate sizing questions.

Which FortiGate do I need for a 20-person office?

Start from the internet circuit, not the headcount. A FortiGate 50G handles about 1.1 Gbps of threat-protection throughput and a 70G about 1.3 Gbps, so a 50G covers a circuit up to about 750 Mbps for 20 people and a 70G covers up to 1 Gbps. The 70G adds ten gigabit ports and a PoE variant; the 50G has five. If the circuit is no faster than about 750 Mbps, one managed switch handles the LAN and you need no PoE from the firewall, the 50G is enough. If the firewall is also the core switch for a small office, take the 70G. Either way, we check session load and the inspection profile you plan to run against the datasheet before we quote.

What is the difference between the FortiGate 70G and 90G?

Inspection capacity and uplinks. The 90G rates 4.5 Gbps IPS and 2.2 Gbps threat protection against 2.5 and 1.3 Gbps on the 70G, and it adds two shared-media pairs that take 10G, 5G or 2.5G copper or SFP+ fiber. If your core switch has 10G uplinks or your circuit exceeds 1 Gbps, the 90G is the smallest G-series that keeps up. The 70G is the right model for a gigabit office with gigabit switching.

Is the FortiGate 30G big enough for a small business?

For a site on a 100 to 300 Mbps circuit with a handful of users, yes. Its threat-protection throughput is 500 Mbps, and it has four gigabit ports. It is not the right choice if the circuit is 500 Mbps or faster, or if you plan to run SSL inspection on most traffic; deep SSL inspection on the 30G is rated at 400 Mbps.

Should I buy a 60F or a 70G?

Buy the 70G unless you depend on SSL-VPN and cannot move off it yet. The 60F is a 2 GB RAM model and loses SSL-VPN on upgrade to FortiOS 7.6, and it reaches end of order on January 13, 2027 (end of support January 13, 2032); the 70G is current-generation SP5 hardware with IPsec or ZTNA remote access from day one.

How many users can a FortiGate 50G support?

Fortinet’s SMB sizing guide puts the 50G at 10 to 25 users, but the circuit decides it, not the headcount. We keep the internet speed at or below about 70 to 80 percent of its 1.1 Gbps threat-protection throughput, which is a circuit up to about 750 Mbps. User counts depend on traffic: heavy SSL inspection, video and file sync load a firewall more than the same number of people on email, so we also check concurrent sessions (720,000) and new sessions per second (85,000) against your traffic.

Does the FortiGate 50G have Wi-Fi?

The FortiGate 50G has no radio. The Wi-Fi version is the FortiWiFi 50G: Fortinet’s datasheet lists a dual-radio 2.4 GHz / 5 GHz, 802.11ax (Wi-Fi 6) interface with 2x2 MU-MIMO and the same 1.1 Gbps threat-protection rating. There are FortiWiFi versions of the 51G, 50G-SFP, 50G-DSL and 50G-5G as well. Our model pages list FortiGate part numbers; we quote FortiWiFi models by part number on request.

Are the FortiGate 30G, 50G, 70G and 90G fanless?

The 50G and 70G are. Their datasheets list the FortiGate models as fanless, the 50G at 0 dBA. The 90G datasheet lists a 21.73 dBA noise level instead. The 30G datasheet gives no noise figure, so we do not claim either way. Among the Wi-Fi models, the FortiWiFi 50G-5G-II and FortiWiFi 70G-POE list noise levels of 21.73 and 17.75 dBA.

FortiGate 50G vs 60F: which should I buy?

The 50G has the higher inspection figures: 1.1 Gbps threat protection, 2.25 Gbps IPS and 1.3 Gbps SSL inspection, against 700 Mbps, 1.4 Gbps and 630 Mbps on the 60F. The 60F has more ports: ten gigabit ports (two WAN, one DMZ, five internal, two FortiLink) against five on the 50G. Both are fanless. The 60F is a 2 GB RAM model that lost proxy features in FortiOS 7.4.4 and SSL-VPN in 7.6; the 50G has no SSL-VPN at all (its datasheet lists none), so remote access is IPsec or ZTNA. If you need the 60F’s port count, the current-generation equivalent is the 70G. The 60F reaches end of order on January 13, 2027.

FortiGate 40F vs 50G: what changed?

The port layout is the same: five gigabit ports, one WAN, three LAN and one FortiLink, and both are fanless. The 50G is ahead on every inspection figure: 1.1 Gbps threat protection against 600 Mbps, 2.25 Gbps IPS against 1 Gbps, and 1.3 Gbps SSL inspection against 310 Mbps. The 40F is a 2 GB RAM model, so it lost proxy features in FortiOS 7.4.4 and SSL-VPN in 7.6. Fortinet’s datasheets also list Content Disarm and Reconstruct, DNS and video filtering and inline CASB as unavailable on the 40F from 7.4.4 and on the 50G in any FortiOS build.

Do these throughput numbers apply to my traffic?

They are Fortinet’s datasheet figures, tested as described in each datasheet. Real throughput depends on which profiles you enable, how much traffic you SSL-inspect, and session rate. We apply rule 1 above, then check sessions per second and concurrent sessions against the datasheet.

Which models support HA?

All four support FortiGate high availability in active-passive mode with identical units. Each member needs its own FortiCare and FortiGuard subscription. For small offices we pair a 70G or 90G; a 30G or 50G HA pair rarely makes sense because the budget is better spent on a single larger unit with a four-hour hardware replacement contract, where Fortinet offers one for your model and location.

Which licensing bundle should I buy?

Start with the Unified Threat Protection bundle described above. Enterprise Protection adds further FortiGuard services; it is not the default. On 30G/50G, Fortinet’s datasheets note that Content Disarm and Reconstruct, DNS/video filtering and inline CASB are not available on the hardware under any bundle, so we confirm feature fit before quoting. Terms run one, three or five years, and we quote the exact Fortinet part number so the term and the contents are unambiguous.

Can you size and install it?

Yes. Send the circuit speed, user count, switching and PoE needs, and what the firewall must do. We recommend a model, quote hardware and licensing by exact part number through our distributor, and run the work at a fixed price: $2,500 for a like-for-like swap of one FortiGate up to the 90-series class that keeps the same design, with hardware and licensing quoted separately. A firewall migration (a design change or another vendor) starts at $6,500 for a single firewall up to the 90-series class, or $8,900 for 100F–200F or an HA pair, with the fixed fee set by the assessment. A Network Risk Assessment ($3,500 for a single small site) maps what is on the network first; a sample report (PDF) shows what it covers.

Sources

Checked against Fortinet’s datasheets.

Last reviewed October 29, 2026. Fortinet revises datasheets and bundle contents; confirm the current sheet and part number before ordering.

Fortinet, FortiGate, FortiOS, FortiGuard, and FortiCare are trademarks of Fortinet, Inc. Ambio Edge Networks is an independent Fortinet partner and is not affiliated with or endorsed by Fortinet.

Managed after installation.

Edge plans start at $695 per site per month; a single firewall is $199 a month on Edge Firewall Watch. See managed firewall cost for what each plan includes, or how network monitoring works.

Get a Sizing Recommendation

Send us your circuit speed and device count.
Get a model and a quote.

What Happens Next

We tell you plainly whether we are the right fit, and what the next step is.

Schedule a conversation Call